Tamron SP AF 28-75mm f/2.8 Di Reviews

Nov 8th, 2006etirta

Price Paid
400

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a week

Dear Nikon Users,

Many of those who search reviews of the Tamron 28-75/f2.8 lens are probably looking for an alternative to the more expensive Nikon's 28-70/f2.8 lens.

I bought my tamron 28-75mm/f2.8 @ $400, while the nikon (28-70mm/f2.8) sells for $1,500. That is a saving of $1,100. But, the ultimate question: is the Tamron as sharp as the Nikon's? Lemme tell ya, it is ACTUALLY sharper! please read on.

I am one of you guys out there who cares ALOT about picture sharpness, proper color saturation and etc. I am very picky! trust me. I am very very very picky. To make a comparison, I rented the Nikon 28-70/f2.8D for two days from a nearby camera store.

I did test the the two lenses through a variety of apetures and through various focal lengths. I made it as systematic as possible. I shoot 28mm for f2.8, 4, 5.6, 8 and so on. Then, I proceed to 70mm (Note: Tamron's goes to 75mm, but for comparison sake, I turned it only to 70mm). I also put the camera on a tripod (never changed positions for two same shots) so as to make the comparison as equal as possible. The truth is, I used my own lighting too, so that the object I am shooting have constant lighting.

Then, I put the results of the pictures from the Tamron's and the Nikon's side by side. My eyes couldn't believe it! The Tamron's pictures actually have more contrast! They look more natural (the Nikon's image tends to brightened up). In fact, @28mm, Tamron's has wider angle view compared to Nikon @ 28mm (Check it out if u don't believe me).

Apart from the picture quality, You can't use the camera's built-in Flash using Nikon's 28-70mm. It will cast a shadow of the lens (@28mm), because the lens is huge. But not the Tamron; Not even when the lens is overextended.

In addition, the Tamron's is almost half the weight of the Nikon. Do take the weight into consideration. Your hands will be more stable holding things that are less heavy.

I know you people out there reading this review will not believe what I say. But please, I encourage you to try it out for yourselves. I was as skeptical as you guys at the first time. How could a $1,500 lens be beaten by a third party lens which cost only $400? After doing the tests MYSELF. I am a believer.

But of course, there is some flow in the Tamron's lens. The focus ring turns, during Autofocus, while the Nikon doesn't. So, if you use your whole hand to stabalize the lenses, you are more prone to accidentally shifts the Tamron's focus ring more. But hey, this is Minor flaw. The more important thing is the sharpness/saturation/contrast of the image produced by these lenses.

So, Tamron 28-75mm or the Nikon 28-70mm?
For this midrange zoom, between these two lenses, I'll go for with Tamron.
Dec 27th, 2006aum

Price Paid
$350.00

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

I used this lens about a year ago with a nikon n-80, and did some rudimentary tests of my own.Here's what I found; overall, this is a very good lens for the money.I was able to stack up to two filters,and a lens shade without any vignetting at middle apertures.To me this is a beautiful thing.The quality of construction is difficult to say, but is very light,and mostly made of plastic.Optically the lens seem to have medium to high contrast ,and good, but not fantastic, sharpness at apetures starting around 5.6.the only real drawback I think, was that the len tended to shift focus a little more then I would have liked when zooming back, and forth. Ofcourse, this might not be a big deal as long as you zoom,and focus.Iv'e just ordered a Sigma EX DG 28-70 2.8 for another camera,as soon as I know how it compares I'll leave my opinion.
Aug 14th, 2007innkeeper

Price Paid
400

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

When i first bought this lens, it was to get some reletively fast glass over my kit lenses for my then new pentax k10d at a good price.

at 400 bucks This was a better deal then the now discontinued pentax smc P-FA 28-70mm F2.8 which now goes for over $1500 used.

I have been stunned by the image quality. it rarely leaves my camera. It is truly as close as i could ever hope to get to prime performance in a zoom.

I had intentions of getting some pentax primes, or some older pentax glass, but, after carful review of the difrences in image quality, i just dont see a need for it, this lens is just as good from 28 - 75.

This is an amazing value for the quality of the images.

I hear that a few people have had issues getting a good copy of this lens. problems with front/back focusing or it beign soft at 75mm. but it does come with a 6 year warrenty, and i've not heard of anyone having a problem with tamron fixing an issue with it.

mine is a good copy and i've been using it for about 8 months now.

I am very suprised there is no mft tests here yet on this lens. its been reviewed on other sites quite faverably. I would love to see how it compares to some of the other lenses that have been tested here.

there have been some tests on other sites, although i dont feel right about posting links to other websites here. other reviews are quite easy to find, there are even review to links on tamron's site.

Defenatly worth checking out if you dont have the 1000+ bucks for a 2.8 midrange zoom, and even if you do...

at this point, all i want for in the range this lens covers is perhaps a 1.4 for some serious low light shots, probably will go with a prime for that. The truth be told, i have rarely had the need, considering when you combine this lens with the built in anti shake in the k10d. its more of a LBA problem (lens buying addiction problem)

I did not have a problem with the built in flash at 28mm with the pentax k10d like the above reviewer did with his nikon.

The lens is lighter and shorter than most 28-75mm it weighs about 1 pound. It makes it viable as a walk around lens.

It does get slightly softer at extreem apatures, f2.8 and a little at f32. most noticable at 28mm and f2.8 but not extreemly so. and much better then most. its defenatly not a problem, and usefull when doing portraites and want to soften things up a little wihtout post processing.

nice little all around lens.
Nov 10th, 2008kjelle

Price Paid
$410

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a week

I bought this lens to get something better than the kit lens for my Pentax K10D at a good price.
Now i have tested 3 of them and all were bad, either front/backfocus problem or centering defects, my dealer took them all back and now i don't know what to choose instead.
I can not reccomend such lens even if i have read many reviews that says otherwise.
Sorry for my poor english i am from Sweden.
Mar 16th, 2009Pas08

Price Paid
$579 CDN

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Dear Nikonians,

I've had this lens for 3 years now and, like most of you, I loved it - at first. It was sharp as a tack and the autofocus was bang on. For the first year or so I was very happy with my purchase and thought I was smarter than the people spending the big bucks on the Nikon version. Sadly I was wrong...

My lens has been sent out 3 times far and I have yet to get a good one that will properly autofocus. Don't get me wrong, when I manually focus it's a fantastic lens, but I bought an AF for a reason.

It either back or forward focuses, depending I assume, on the tech that does the calibration at the time. I've even been offered a refurbished unit twice before, all of which where returned as they did not perform any better than the unit I had originally.

It's currently out for it's 3rd calibration - in Japan - and thus I will be without my lens for 6-8 weeks, again. I was now offered to "upgrade" to the newer version that has an integrated motor for $175+ taxes. Of course warranty would start again from scratch but still, I don't feel I should have to pay more when I was sold a lemon in the first place.

Don't get me wrong, as much as I'm complaining about it, I still think it would be a fantastic lens - if it functioned correctly.

My note to any potential buyers: Test it out properly within your store return period. I found a very useful testing method here:
http://regex.info/blog/photo-tech/focus-chart#print

If my issue is not resolved with this current repair, I've decided to replace it with the Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 which seems more reliable and consistent with it's performance.
Mar 5th, 2010joeanty

Price Paid
160

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I use this lens on my D300 an don mf F100.
This lens is Very sharp when used from center to corner with the DX sensor, also at f/2.8.
With the FF, the extreme corners are very soft also stopped down (af f/8 the situation is just a little bit better).

Is light and compact for a so-luminous lens
Jun 27th, 2010CovPix

Price Paid
$275 CDN

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

It took 3 copies, and the third (bought in Japan) was a real winner, night and day difference between the other copies. This lens is terrific for portrait and wedding zoom on crop.

On FF camera, just OK, better options for Canon and Nikon and Sony users.
Dec 14th, 2010ARTBUCK

Price Paid
Not Specified

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

THE LENS YOU WANT, AT THE PRICE THATS REASONABLE AND THAT BESTS THE MORE EXPENSIVE COMPETITION.EXTREMELY SHARP RESOLUTION AND EVERY COMPETENT FOCUSING. VERY HAPPY I WAS TOLD BY A PHOTOGRAPHY SHOP TO LOOK AT WHEN I WAS SHOPPING FOR A DIFFERENT LENS.

Write a Review

You must be logged-in or registered to add a review.

photodo Stats

1102 lenses
428 MTF tests
74 in-depth        photodo reviews
100+ users join each day

Help the lens community by reviewing or rating a lens today via our lens search