Tamron SP AF 17-50mm f/2.8 XR Di ll LD Aspherical (IF) Reviews

Jul 31st, 2006poah

Price Paid
300

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a month

as the tamron 17-50 is a digital only lens it is small and not very heavy. When attached to a 20D the set up is well balance although the zoom righ is round the wrong way from what I am used to. the focus is acceptably fast and as it is the old type of motor there is a noise but not louder than the shutter. the lens is built very well and the image quality is stunning. For 300 it represents amazing value for money. the canon 17-55 is has less CA and IS but is it worth the extra 500

the only weekness I find is the front element is very close to the threads making it easier to damage. I don;t normally use protective fitlers but I am goign to get one for this as I'm worried about the lens element
Jun 6th, 2007ikelah

Price Paid
$395 USD

Product Understanding
Average

Time Owned
Less than a month

I had this lens about 6 weeks ago and had to return for bad focussing, severe vignetting and bad CA. It was been replaced bay a new copy. I am quite pleased with this copy. It was sharp and CA was well controlled.

Vignetting at F2.8 still persist at all focal length although it was minimal. Focusing was a bit slow when contrast is low and the is a from to focus at infinity when set at 17mm FL.

Other than the above, the image produced was very good. The lens was for my D50.
Mar 8th, 2008Racinette

Price Paid
$469 CDN

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I opted for this lens instead of the Nikkor 17-55mm f2.8 DX. After testing both lenses, I couldn't find enough of a difference (except price!) to make the Nikkor worthwhile over this one.

I have the Chinese-made version, which some say suffers from quality control. However, mine is incredibly sharp and produces slightly more warm-toned images than other lenses of this type. Sharpness is incredible even at f2.8, and especially at the 50mm end of the range. There is some vignetting at 17mm, but I can live with that.

A friend of mine has the Japanese-made version and claims that it is a little soft at f2.8. Therefore, it's a good idea to check out this lens thoroughly before buying one, just in case, and perhaps avoid buying one through mail or online auction without some tests to show proof of quality.

Other than that, I would recommend this as a professionally-made and reliable lens.
Mar 26th, 2009h3rb

Price Paid
E 275

Product Understanding
Average

Time Owned
Less than a year

Looking for a replacement for the 18/55 kitlens that came with my Canon 400D, I looked at a couple of lenses. Of course, I'd like to own a Canon L-series lens, but I really can't afford those.

Since I already own a 70-300 Sigma zoomlens, i really didn't need a lens with a very brood zoom-spectrum. What I did want was F2.8. I have two young children, and being able to make pictures of them in low-light without flashing is something I really looked for in a lens.

After reading a lot of reviews on-line I decided to go try this one and the Sigma 18-55 F2.8.

I immediately fell in love with the Tamron. It seemed sharper than the Sigma and the colours also looked more vivid.

Since the demo-model was the last in the store, they let met buy it for a considerable discount. They also let me keep the UV-filter that was attached for no extra charged.

Since I own it it hasn't been detached from my camera. It's a very versatile lens, a sharp lens and I get away with very low-light situations, ideal for child portraits.

I'm very happy with it. Yeah, if I won the lottery tomorrow I'd buy a Canon L lens, sure. Along with a mark III and a couple of other canon L lenses. But this one makes me very happy right now.
Mar 29th, 2009xholger

Price Paid
310

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

My lens has a Nikon mount, I use it with the D300. Sharpness is good in the centre even at F2.8, the edges are less sharp wide open. Stopped down to F5.6 sharpness is good from edge to edge. There's also some noticeable vignetting at F2.8, especially at 17mm, vignetting is reduced to insignificant levels when stopping down to F5.6.
There's noticeable distortion at 17mm. Colours are a bit on the warm side, but not too severely.
AF-operation is okay, but not very fast; AF-accuracy could be a little better in general, but I have no issues with front-/backfocus.
The build quality is only average, the lens won't withstand rough handling ....
Feb 12th, 2010tmt

Price Paid
270

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

One of the sharpest lens I have ever owned. Great contrast, no trouble with CA and a fantastic walk arround lens. The images are just 3D like even at 2,8. However the AF-accuracy is medicore with a 50% hit and miss at 17mm and okish at all other length. If you take some care you can work arround it, but I wish it would have USM. Because of front focusing issues I had to send it back to get it fixed. No issues since, so no REAL trouble here, other 3 annoying weeks without the lens.
Build quality is ok for me. A bargain and stayer.
Feb 12th, 2010tmt

Price Paid
Not Specified

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Forgot to mention the very useful closeup funktion. I used it often instead of a makro lens with excellent results.
Mar 5th, 2010joeanty

Price Paid
300

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

The best general purpouse zoom I've ever had. Very sharp also in the extreme corners (if stopped down to f/5.6), light and compact.

The build quality is not so good (it feels very platicly)

Write a Review

You must be logged-in or registered to add a review.

photodo Stats

1102 lenses
428 MTF tests
74 in-depth        photodo reviews
100+ users join each day

Help the lens community by reviewing or rating a lens today via our lens search