Tamron SP 90mm f/2.5 Macro Reviews

Nov 8th, 2006BigAl

Priced Paid
60

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

Superb sharpness at f4 and above.
Very stiff to focus at the infinity end, but this seems to be mine as my friends is super smooth right way through. Sharpness and overall quality are on par with my Contax Carl Zeiss Planar f1.4.

When I use zooms on holiday for convenience the results all need sharpening on the computer.

Not with this lens, its biting sharp and everypne should have one as they can be picked up cheaply second hand.

Pre-focussing is essential and they do not suit all situations, I use mine mainly for railway photography giving 135mm by the cropping factor of the Canon 350D
Nov 9th, 2006mb6126

Priced Paid
HK$ 15xx

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Very good Marco lens
Its a little bit weighted
Close up is 1:2 only
Very sharp image
High Cost/Performance value
Nov 7th, 2007jardis

Priced Paid
290$

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I have AF 90 macro f2.5f.

Sharpness is so good in f2.5 for portrait.

I don't use Nikon AF 85mm f1.4 since i've bought this.

I don't know why this model was changed to nowadays clumsy 90 macro f2.8

Very good^^*
Nov 20th, 2007BigAl

Priced Paid
70

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

A second review from myself. The grass is always greener so I wanted the latest version as per my friends, mine was also stiff in the region that I need to focus. I have just bought 2 off Ebay and had my hands on another one.
Conclusion - I am keeping mine. The stiffness has gone without me noticing it and it is built like a tank compared to the later version. Also in terms of image sharpness my seems to just have the edge.
What is the difference. The older version is metal, has parallel grooves on the rubber focusing grip and has a 49mm filter thread. The newer one is plastic, lighter of course, has square grips on the focussing rubber, a plastic clear window over the aperture numbers and a 55mm filter thread.
When you consider what these cost in their day, they are an absolute bargain. I had a CanonFD 85mm f1.8 which cost far more and was poor by comparison.
The only negative I have is that when taking a small object on a white backgroung. IE a lens to sell on Ebay, I get a blueish white patch in the centre. I take this to be the reflection of the sensor on my 350D. It is easily manipulated out. I do not know if this happens witth the later versions.
Wonderful lenses for the second hand price. So at least now I have peace of mind that the older version is just as good, if not a tiny tad better.
Nov 21st, 2007Burstmode

Priced Paid
$75

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I agree about the older mf f/2.5. I sold my af tamron 90 f/2.8 and kept my old lens. I didn't find the af that useful and the new lens simply could not match the older one, even though it would go 1:1 while the old one only goes (without tube) 1:2. I too have noticed that funny bluish spot with white backgrounds...also sometimes with bright lights (like sun) reflecting off a surface.
Mar 8th, 2008Racinette

Priced Paid
$125 Used

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

I'd like to echo the positive comments others have made about this lens. I bought mine to replace my Micro-Nikkor 55mm f2.8 AIS, which began to develop a problem with sticky oil on the aperture blades.

Since the 55 AIS is legendary for sharpness (which I agree), this lens had to keep up with my expectations -- and it dones!

My 90mm is is near-mint shape, and at $125 CDN, it's still a great deal, especially when you consider that most other new macro lenses are at least five times as much.
Dec 8th, 2010pixlsaurus

Priced Paid
$400+ (1980 ish)

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I bought one of these lenses, along with the 2x teleconverter, when they were first introduced to the NZ market around the early 1980's. The focus mechanism on mine has always been silky smooth and being of metal construction, I do enjoy the weightiness of the lens. It has been been a joy to use. It is extremely well made and I have always found the optical quality to be superb. In the 90's, I had the lens serviced as there was fungus appearing behind the front elements. I used it continuously until the mid 1990's when my interest in photography languished. Since then until a few weeks ago, the lens just sat around. I recently put it on my Pentax *ist DS and found it optically superior to any of my other Pentax digital lens. Whereas I always had to sharpen images in PSE6, they just never quite looked right. Amazing that a near 30 year old lens is just sooo good. It doesn't have autofocus (no loss there) and I have had to make a small mod so my digicam will meter through it. All I can say is I real glad I have hung onto this magnificent beast, and will never sell it.
Aug 19th, 2012ProfHankD

Priced Paid
$97 USD

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a week

For computational photography research I'm doing, I have collected over 100 lenses. This is an interesting one because it uses a Gauss front cell which moves relative to a rear correcting cell. This gives it some very nice properties, including being better corrected at all focus distances, but the flat surface of the rear cell is believed to be the cause of the dreaded purple spot which sometimes appears in the image center (a sensor reflection?). I will be doing some testing to better understand the cause of the purple spot, but I do note it is most problematic around f/11 and has the shape of the lens aperture.

My preliminary tests have been using this lens with a NEX-7, and it is definitely in that elite class of lenses that clearly could make good use of more than 24MP for APS-C. Sharpness is excellent wide open (with great bokeh), but continues to improve at least to f/11. Color is very good. Flare can be an issue, so I am using a 49mm screw-in hood from a 135mm f/3.5 Takumar with this. Build is excellent.

Overall, it's an outstanding portrait lens as well as a great macro... with the only serious issue being that you have to watch for the purple spot.
Oct 2nd, 2012annettep38

Priced Paid
can't recall

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I have owned this lens for at least 15 years, only recently I have sortof replaced it with a 200 Micro Nikkor.
BUT soon I realised what an irreplaceable lens it is for flowers and animals at a closer distance, bad light situations etc.
It is still unsurpassed in focussing and mechanical quality.
I have never had a purple spot in 15 years, or any other problem apart form the 1:2 scale ( which is what I bought the nikkor for)
I have ownwed Tamrons 180mm and it turned out to be of much weaker build than the old one.
I do mainly macro so you can imagine my delight when it was still excellent on the d3x!!
Aug 16th, 2013soneoutt

Priced Paid
100 USD

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Albuquerque Product Photography Atlanta Product Photography Austin Product Photography Baltimore Product Photography Boston Product Photography Charlotte Product Photography Chicago Product Photography Cleveland Product Photography Columbus Product Photography Dallas Product Photography Denver Product Photography Detroit Product Photography Houston Product Photography Indianapolis Product Photography Jacksonville Product Photography Kansas City Product Photography Las Vegas Product Photography Los Angeles Product Photography Louisville Product Photography Memphis Product Photography Miami Product Photography Milwaukee Product Photography Minneapolis Product Photography Nashville Product Photography New Orleans Product Photography New York Product Photography Oakland Product Photography Oklahoma Cty Product Photography Philadelphia Product Photography Phoenix Product Photography Pittsburgh Product Photography Portland Product Photography Sacramento Product Photography San Antonio Product Photography San Diego Product Photography San Francisco Product Photography San Jose Product Photography Seattle Product Photography Washington Product PhotographyCalgary Product Photography Edmonton Product Photography Montreal Product Photography Ottawa Product Photography Quebec Product Photography Regina Product Photography Saskatoon Product Photography Toronto Product Photography Vancouver Product Photography Winnipeg Product Photography

Write a Review

You must be logged-in or registered to add a review.