Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 EX DC Reviews

Feb 24th, 2007analucius

Price Paid
$210 USD

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I have owned this lens for 2 years now. It has been on my camera during critical wedding photography and all demanding jobs. It also has given me quite a good number of photos from my family around the house.

This one lens, like the Canon 50 f1.8, is one that I will never part with. It provides so much bang for the buck that it is hard to ignore. And for those guys out there that consider Sigma an inferior brand of lenses. I have only one comment. You don't know what you're missing.

Great glass!
Apr 3rd, 2007lazydazer

Price Paid
£ 200

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a week

Bought this lens a week ago.I have taken about 200 carefully measured test shots, and I'm in love with this lens. It's incredibly sharp at f2.8, extraordinary at f4.0. VERY good colours. It is, for sure, one of the great lenses in the market today.
Jun 12th, 2007Celticson

Price Paid
USD $399

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a month

I purchased this lens recently for my Canon 30d after having been disappointed with the lack of sharpness in the Canon 17-40mm f4 L. The Sigma is sharper and much more versatile having a decent macro facility. Construction quality is very good and everything works smoothly although not as smoothly as the superbly built Canon "L." However, softness is not acceptable in my view and this Sigma is extremely sharp as evidenced by the usual shots of brick walls. There is very slight CA wide open but you have to enlarge the shot many times to see it. This lens appears to be a winner and it may prove to be as good as its non-macro predecessor. A Photodo test is eagerly awaited.
Sep 10th, 2007giftzwerg

Price Paid
$400usd

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

This lens couldn't find focus if you gave it a hunting dog. Consistent, repeatable misfocus at all ranges. I compiled a DVD of the appalling performance of this lens - using five (5) Canon camera bodies - and sent it off to Sigma along with the bad lens. Their response? Our lens is fine; send us the five camera bodies.

Buh-bye, Sigma. Last lens I buy from you.

Here's the bottom line on this lens; *if* you get a copy that can focus, performance is pretty good. But test, test, test, test, test, test. Shoot lots of images wide open - AND DON'T ACCEPT OUT-OF-FOCUS RESULTS. Sigma won't help you. Take such a lens back for an immediate refund.
Sep 15th, 2007lapratho

Price Paid
299.99

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

This is a great indoor lens for low light shooting.
I got it at cameta.com for 299.99 and do not regret it in the least - a great price for a great lens.

Good color, good detail, reasonably sharp wide open at f2.8, and so far next to no problem with flare.

Stop down to f4 or f5.6 and you hit the sweet spot - which is something to write home about!

This is excellent glass and beats the hell out of kit lenses and even much more expensive gear!

It is little soft on the wide end, but better a soft shot, than no shot from a "darker" lens!
Exposure is good and bright and renders nice colors.
Ironically due to the fact that Pentax dSLRs tend to underexpose with Pentax lenses, this one (like my other Sigmas and Tamrons) does it just right!

On my Pentax K10d it has no problem focusing.
I have noticed there seems to be a pattern for Sigma gear getting bad reviews about focusing particularly on Canon gear, so there may be an issue for Canon body owners, but not on Pentax.

So far my 18-50 f2.8, 28-105 f2.8-4, and 18-125 are all ok and have performed well.
The only complaint for the 18-50 f2.8, as well as the 18-125 is for focus at the wide end at 18mm, but the same goes for all of my zoom lenses with a wide end - the trick is to focus zoomed close, and then go wide again.
This is a great bargain for a strong light gathering bucket, and from what I have seen it is a good as much more expensive gear.
It is not quite as contrasty as a couple of Tamrons I own, but that means I get good shadow detail without blown out picture portions and can still crank the contrast later in software to get more "punch".

I have to admit that I rarely go wide, so this is a secondary to my primary Tamron 28-75 f2.8 and my outdoor carry around Sigma 18-125, BUT I would not want to miss it from my bag for those few rare shots when I need it and it counts.
A keeper for sure, and indispensable for all fellow "cave light hunters"!
Oct 24th, 2007BigAl

Price Paid
200

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

I have a Canon 350D and soon was disenchanted with its 17-55mm kit lens. Having tested lots of lenses and settling for the Zeiss Contax Planar 50mm 1.4 and the Carl Zeiss Flektagon 35mm f2.4. Picking the better of 2 tested in each case. I wanted a lens that could work fast in cases where the manuall focus of the 2 Zeiss's left them wanting.

The Sigma is very good indeed, at A4 size it is biting sharp and no difference between it and the 2 Zeiss's. (35mm and 50mm)

Keep on blowing up the pictures and it falls behind, but not by much.

Having more elements the light reaching the sensor is aout 2/3 of a stop down.

Taking portraits from chest up, detail is visible in the colour of the eyes.

It has to be given 5/5 stars.

Slightly behind the very best fixed focal length lens's but the conveinience and range of focal length make it a winner.

It looks good, feels good and handles very well with quick focus. Also it is less than half price of the Canon L series.

The only fault I have found is when using a rotating polorising filter, I have to remove the petal hood as I cannot get rotation with it on. Which somewhat kills the advantage of the lens focus being non rotational. However I can live with that.
Oct 25th, 2007BigAl

Price Paid
200

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

Just to add to the review I submitted Yesterday. I have just received a 35mm Contax Distagon and it beats the Flektagon I have been using. This is my second Distagon, the first West German one was poor! My first Flektagon was also poor. It just goes to show that the manufacturers have a tolerance band, so a top middle class lens could beat a poor top end lens.

This Sigma was better (at 35mm)than the two lesser Zeiss lenses, but not as good as the better pair.

The moral is - if you are dissapointed with your lens after reading good reviews, sell that one and try another
Aug 12th, 2008ghenton

Price Paid
Not Specified

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I have had this lens (Sigma 18-50mm EX DC HSM )4/3 mount, for about a year now and can confirm that this is a very good lens. The images produced are very sharp and with very good contrast. The bokeh is excellent. It makes you want to shoot wide open all the time.This lens is good for portrait also very nice for mid range macro. Focus is quick and quite. Would have no problems recommending this lens, I got it as a upgrade to the kit lens. The only short coming is that the 2x crop factor of 4/3's means that the 18mm = 36mm on the wide end is not so wide.

Write a Review

You must be logged-in or registered to add a review.

photodo Stats

1102 lenses
428 MTF tests
74 in-depth        photodo reviews
100+ users join each day

Help the lens community by reviewing or rating a lens today via our lens search