Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM Reviews

Jul 25th, 2006waltshoe

Price Paid
$499

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

This lens is just plain awesome! I'm not kidding, at 10mm this lens MAKES pictures! Find a curve trailing into the distance... this lens magnifies it. You can take close-ups at just a few inches. Architecture is fantastic! Tiny spaces are no problem. This really opens up vistas... (BTW, works great, sharp, no distortion.)
Aug 11th, 2006ts514695

Price Paid
430 Euro

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

Extremely satisfied with the performance of this lens - especially sharpness, distortion (lack of) and handling. I notice that it delivers slightly warmer color than my Canon lenses.
Very exciting lens to use - not easy in the beginning with such a wide angle but you certainly get rewarded for your efforts.
Oct 7th, 2006brytondale

Price Paid
$599.00

Product Understanding
Average

Time Owned
Less than a week

I bought this Sigma lens from a local camera store, thinking it would probably be the best of the three ultra wide zooms available from Sigma, Tamron and Tokina. I was flat out wrong. You see, I also did an in store test of all 3 of these lenses when I made this purchase. I used my own camera; a Canon 10D. I was sure to use shutter speeds fast enough to not require a tripod and no flash for all the shots. For each lens I did an in the store shot and an 'out the window' shot. Granted, this test did shoot all the lenses at only the wide open aperture, but I figure that's how I'll most likely use the lens anyway. Yes, it's not a real scientific type of analysis, but I am confident what I saw did not lie to me. Here's my findings:

Tokina 12-24mm f/4.0:
This lens was the sharpest by a wide, wide margin. It showed tremendous detail where the other two lenses showed nothing. However, the chromatic aberation (color fringe) was also tremendous. Yeah, I know the camera raw plugin has some capabilities to correct this, but one, I don't want to d*ck with every photo like that and two, I've found it doesn't do a completely thorough job as it will fix the problem in one are and introduce it in another. You just can't beat high quality glass that doesn't need Photoshop fixes. So this lens was a no go.

Sigma 10-20mm f/4-5.6 EX DC HSM:
This lens had the least chromatic aberation. However, the shots were noticeably softer. Compared to the other two lenses, it looked like I was shooting through a stackup of 3 or 4 uv filters. Photoshop sharpening did help, but it can't change the fact that detail that wasn't there to begin with, isn't going to magically show up from any amount of sharpeing.

Tamron 11 - 18mm f/4.5-5.6 XR DI-II LD:
Granted, this lens costs about $100 more than the other two, but to me this lens had the best comprimise of sharpness/ resolving power and least chromatic aberation. I've had it for a few months now. It does seem to hunt a bit for focus, which I guess I can live with. I didn't use the other two lenses enough to tell if they had this same issue. Perpahs they don't as they both are f/4 and this lens is an f/4.5 at the wide end.
Oct 24th, 2006kgelner

Price Paid
$499

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I have owned this lens for over a year now, and have found it to be truly excellent. If you are going to use it at some of the wider angles and want the edges to be sharp bringing it up to F8 or F11 helps as they are significantly further away from the camera due to the field of view.

I have not seen any problems with sharpness, apart from the aformentioned need to bump up the aperture a little to make the edges really sharp - the center region stays sharp the whole time and even f5.6 is pretty good overall and quite usable.
Jan 13th, 2007SimonG

Price Paid
450Euros

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

I own a Canon 10-22 and I'm pleased with the results I'm having(but not the price I paid)So,when a friend came to ask my opinion I recommended the Sigma 10-20 for his Canon 350D.Having read so many different reviews about this lens I tested it against my Canon before we buy.This lens is SHARP!Sharper than the Canon at wider focal lengths.CA is very well condrolled (much better than the Canon).Color is OK and lens shade comes for free.Now the cons;I had to send back the first sample because it was softer at it's right side(like the lens was tilted!)and there was a small piece of paint(?) between the lens groups.The second sample was fine (but not as sharp as the first one).I would strongly recommend this lens (especially for Canon users-I would consider the Tokina 12-24 for it's build quallity for Nikon mounts )but only if you can test it first!
Feb 14th, 2007Rodelion

Price Paid
420

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a month

First off, I like the build. The lens is solid, and manual focus is smooth and nice. The hood is sturdy enough, and protects the lens well.

I am very impressed by the results of this lens on my Pentax K100D. Compared to my other lenses (28-70/4, F70-210/4-5.6 and even K50/1.4) this lens sets a new standard for resolving power, mostly because it suffers a lot less from chromatic abberation then my other, older lenses.

Wide open it's already very sharp, but it suffers from some CA so contrasty details get some fringing or appearant softness. Stopped down (f5.6 for F=10mm, or f8 for F=20mm) CA disappears, and the edges get very sharp too.

Distortion is very low, and it's an excellent bargain for architecture and landscape photography. I'm very happy with it - this lens means no more borders, and no more backing off!
Jul 17th, 2007joeanty

Price Paid
430 euro

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I like this lens very much, but it has got a big problm on extreme edge: it's too soft (also at f/8)!
For the rest, is a very good lens: handling and feeling, build quality and center performance are great. Also CA is OK, except at wide open.
Nov 11th, 2007heuves

Price Paid
450 euro

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a month

Great glass. Solid quality, superb sharpness at f/8. great fun to play with
Jul 23rd, 2008aes

Price Paid
$470

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a month

I was surprised by this lense-great sharpness and colours, low CA, good build quality, exact focussing, quite fast. I'm very happy to own this lense. It's usable for architecture,landscape, documentary photography, people..

Write a Review

You must be logged-in or registered to add a review.

photodo Stats

1102 lenses
428 MTF tests
74 in-depth        photodo reviews
100+ users join each day

Help the lens community by reviewing or rating a lens today via our lens search