Olympus 50mm f/1.8 Reviews

May 7th, 2007Opton

Price Paid
$60 USD

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Very cheep but exellent lens with very flat image field, very even performance through all apertures. Good resistance to flare in my MC variant. Very good "workhorse"!
Aug 11th, 2007ondrejp

Price Paid
70 EUR

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Outstanding lens. Sharp, good contrast, almost no distortion.

I have Zuikos 28/3.5, 35/2.8, 50/1.8, 85/2, 135/3.5 and 200/4. I tested them all on a Canon digital body, and this 50/1.8 is the sharpest already wide open with excellent resolution.

A must have for every Zuikographer :)
Sep 3rd, 2007epzPete

Price Paid
20

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Razor sharp optics and smooth focusing action, but when buying second-hand take care for sticky aperture, this seemed to be quite common with this lens. To check hold the lens up to a light with the lens set at f/16 and press and release the aperture stop down button on the rim. The aperture should close down to f/16 and spring back wide open as soon as the button is released.
Aug 23rd, 2008jirinzn

Price Paid
bargain

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

excellent compact and lightweight lens, sharp full open, with perfect color rendition. My favourite portrait and street-photo short telelens for E-1 (by my opinion more contrasty full open, better than 1,4/50mm)
Oct 6th, 2008octobercycle

Price Paid
$20

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Compact, cheap and basically sharp wide open. Compared to 50mm f 1.4, this lens has a more even performance across it's aperture range.
Jul 15th, 2011hvdz

Price Paid
15 Euro

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

Quite good lens, but less sharp at f 1.8, f2.8 and f4.
Excellent as of f8 and higher.
Oct 1st, 2014alanz

Price Paid
$45.

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

Per my experience with the F.Zuiko1.8/50mm lens, all the aforementioned reviews are valid. The mechanics and optics are excellent, and the lens is a joy to use. It has strong performance in all respects for very high sharpness, colour, contrast, bokeh, and very low distortion and chromatic aberration. The coma is higher than I prefer, but this becomes a factor in rare circumstances. An excellent lens when adapter for a digital camera. Mine is mounted upon the Sony A7R, and the lens gives excellent rendition: better than most other lenses of today. This lens is unbeatable for the price paid.

Per the MTF chart at f4, the lens compares extremely well to the top lenses on this site. MTF for f4 at 10 lp/mm is 0.94. at 20 lp/mm is 0.83. at 40 lp/mm is 0.60.

Write a Review

You must be logged-in or registered to add a review.

photodo Stats

1102 lenses
428 MTF tests
74 in-depth        photodo reviews
100+ users join each day

Help the lens community by reviewing or rating a lens today via our lens search