Nikon AF-S DX 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5G Reviews

Jul 30th, 2006Teabow

Priced Paid
$300.00

Product Understanding
Average

Time Owned
More than a year

Good lens for sunny day pictures.Good quality for a "kit" lens.Very good for the money .Most Reviews recommend to use between 35-50 mm focal length and between f 8.0-11.0 aperatures for best image quality .
Aug 13th, 2006RWagner

Priced Paid
$225 USD

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

I'm starting to do more street and rural structures photography and this lens fits this perfectly for me. The infamous "mustache" distortion is not very pronouced on my copy. Contrast and saturation are nice and photos sharpen up real well in post composition.
Oct 19th, 2006mike

Priced Paid
$300

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

The handling of this lens is uninspiring; both the focus and zoom rings are jumpy and the zoom ring binds at the short focal length end when zooming in. You can't use it with extension rings/tubes for lack of an aperture ring. Performance-wise it does give useable pictures at all apertures and focal lengths, and I imagine a weighted MTF would show its resolving power around 3.5. It's as sharp at f8 as a 50mm f1.8D is at f2.8. Images start to get a little "bite" to them around f/10, and diffraction softening starts after f/16. Bokeh is generally neutral to good, but you have to be right on top of your subject to get any due to the small aperture range. I've used this lens on the D70, D200 and D2X.
Apr 8th, 2007williamkaz

Priced Paid
Not Specified

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I sold mine because I got disgusted with the flare in backlight situations. Also sold my 24-85mm F2.8-4 for the same reasons. I use prime lenses. I have a zoom that I did keep;
35-105 F3.5-4.5 AFD. I use it on the beach.
Apr 9th, 2007F64

Priced Paid
$256 (kit)

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Suitable weight, good optical quality and quick focus so that it is a perfect product by Nikon as in the class of travelling lens with a good price
Jul 3rd, 2007Lex

Priced Paid
$300 USD

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I'm not as big a fan of this lens as some folks, but it's really not a bad lens. The focal range is handy for 1.5x dSLRs and the price is right.

The only previous criticism I see here that surprises me a bit is the one regarding flare. I've been pleased with the flare resistance of this lens, which is the best of any midrange zoom I've owned. I've photographed people with the sun setting behind them, using fill flash, and there was no ghosting or veiling flare. Can't say that about my 24-120/3.5-5.6 VR or 35-70/2.8 AF, let alone the many third party midrange zooms I've owned.

Overall it's comparable to my old 28-85/3.5-4.5 AF Nikkor, an equivalent "kit zoom" from the N6006 era. But the 18-70/3.5-4.5G DX is contrastier and more flare resistant (mine is, anyway). So that's why I kept it and sold the older zoom.
Aug 21st, 2010viewfindr

Priced Paid
$300

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I've used this lens extensively on a D80 and a D2x and find the sharpness very good to excellent from 18-30mm, razor sharp 30-50mm, not-so-good at 80mm. The sweet spot is 2-3 stops from max. It even matches the center sharpness of my 60mm micro, but softer in the corners. CA is very good to excellent. For the money, it's a great general purpose lens. It's also good for IR shooting with converted bodies. Build, pretty good, for plastic. Definitely seen worse. I highly recommend it.

Write a Review

You must be logged-in or registered to add a review.

photodo Stats

1102 lenses
428 MTF tests
74 in-depth        photodo reviews
100+ users join each day

Help the lens community by reviewing or rating a lens today via our lens search