Nikon AF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5D Reviews

Jul 26th, 2006martin54

Price Paid
Not Specified

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

This has been my normal "walk around lens" for many years, it served me well on my film SLR and stiil gives good service on my D70, although I need to use the equivalent 18-70 for wider shots.

The macro feature is very useful, allowing a 1:2 maximum ratio between 50 and 105mm, the only irritation being that you can only switch out of macro if the lens is focused past the macro zone.

The lens hood is a bit of a beast, but it does the job well. The lens has consistantly given good performance for me and provided many a good shot.

To sumarise, this is a little gem of a lens, sharp, compact, covers a decent range and is excellent value for money.
Dec 23rd, 2007quikie22

Price Paid
$230 USD

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

A real Swiss Army knife for film cameras. This lens covers from wide angle to moderate tele in a nice small neat package, with macro function built in.

Build and Handling: Fairly compact, plastic but solid feel with good heft. Built mainly for autofocus, it has a very narrow angle of turn for focusing.

Optically: Sharp, good contrast, good colour, minimal distortion, very slight vignetting. Variable aperture but still only 3.5-4.5 which is not too bad. Macro at 1:2 function works well in a pinch, with acceptable quality.

Drawbacks : None at this price point.
Dec 24th, 2007Russ

Price Paid
$350.00

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

An excellent lens. Able to deliver pro caliber results, and priced moderately. Also has a useful macro mode.

Russ
Jun 6th, 2008fecen

Price Paid
$300

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

For many years I`m a Leica adict, a few years ago I decided to buy something more casual, evey day, but with high quality.
I decided to try Nikon.
This was my first Nikon lenses.
Ok, this is not a prime Leica but I love it !
Now I have a lot of Canon, Leica and Nikons but this one is still my favorite bud, always bring it with me in all my trips.
Why ?
Because this is a high quality all-in-one lenses, from macro to tele it does anything well, you don`t need to carry other lenses for casual photo, you will never lost a scene!
I recomend, buy one used if you find !
Ops ! sorry for my poor english !
Mar 14th, 2010sleepyvr4

Price Paid
$125

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

I was recently hired to cover events for a cruise line based employer - and they had requirements for a single purpose lens that had to be met (I shoot with only primes). This lens mates up nicely to the D700 - offers plenty of range - and doesn't weigh you down. I had used and contemplated the 24-85mm af-s for some time and decided to pass due to distortions. With some Googling you can find a couple old film or aps-c reviews on this lens. A couple people mentioned this lens for full frame so I said why not. The 28-105 shows imperceptable barrel distortion at the wide end - and offers more tele ability than 24-85 - and a truly useful macro mode. At F9 this baby is at its sharpest - which is easy to shoot at in bright daylight or with mounted flash - if you desire sharpest results. I use this for mostly portraits - it offers very pleasant bokeh and more than enough range. I really enjoy using the Rayflash Ringflash adapter with this lens as well. I really obsess over specialty glass - too much I believe - having spent over $10,000 in the past year I am at a point where I have the gear I am happy with - I just want to see what is out there that impresses for less. All Nikon full framers should buy this lens as soon as you get the chance. I got mine minty and dust free for next to nothing. Focus is spot on. Ken Rockwell whined about this lens - I feel he got a lousy sample. Or perhaps he dropped it prior to mounting lol - I dunno. He used it on F100 - likely the culprit. I kinda wish one of the decent review labs would cover this lens (SlrGear, Photozone, etc...)

Clearly sharper stopped down.

AF is dynamite on D700

CA in high contrast areas sucks (found out at ski slopes) - I haven't been able to reproduce results that terrible since however...


Check CraigLook.com or eBay and you're set...


Colin Wadsworth



Pros:

Size/Weight/Price

Full frame range

Useful macro

Great tele portrait isolation and bokeh

Flare not bad

Great Sunstars

Decent Build

Low $ = low expectations - however you will be delighted if used properly



Cons:

Low Light Ability not great - BUT FOCUS IS ACCURATE AND CONSISTENT

CA in certain situations

Extending barrel = lame

Rotating barrel not great for Circular Polarizer, but rotates a minor degree

Macro switch transition requires lens focused towards infinity or +50mm

Stupid filter size
Sep 19th, 2012Archimago

Price Paid
$175CAD

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

An inexpensive and surprisingly good "walk around".

I just got the D800 about 2 months ago. Bought this lens at a good price locally used but essentially mint. So far on trips this lens has proven its worth over and over! The image quality even "wide open" for its focal length already is sharp centrally and stopping down to ~f7 usually gets me decent corner to corner sharpness... I notice this can be a little unpredictable depending on the focal length.

Bokeh is reasonably good for the price. Nothing *too* distracting on the macro shots.

Quirks:
- The macro/normal switch can only be engaged with certain focal lengths or when focused towards infinity. I was confused by this when first got the lens.
- Barrel extends and front ring rotates - small hassle for polarizer use.
- Build quality on the zoom ring could be improved. The plastic rotation "binds" a bit so precise zooming can be difficult at times; I've heard this can get worse as the lens ages.
- Forget using the hood. It's nasty looking. Haven't noticed much issue with flair unless shooting unreasonably into the sun.

Pros:
- Impressive IQ for the price. Despite the 36MP body, pixel sharpness is achievable without too much difficulty with adequate daytime light. Chromatic aberration was minimal on my copy.
- Light and relatively small for the zoom range.

Bottom line: Give it a try for your travel bag!
Nov 24th, 2014Racinette

Price Paid
$350 CDN new

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

It seems as though this lens is one that you either love or hate. In a way, I've done both!

This was my main lens while using film with Nikon cameras from about 1997 until 2002 when I bought my first dSLR, a Fuji S2 Pro (Nikon F mount). Since there were few good choices for DX lenses at the time, this lens was still used for most of my mid-range shooting, and I still liked it. However, the range was a bit long for regular shooting, and by 2004 I had replaced this lens with more-practical Tamron and Tokina lenses in the 16-50mm (DX) range. This lens was put back in the box to wait until I had an FX camera.

Then, two years ago, along came the D800 and this lens was back in use! I had forgotten how useful it was to have a little extra reach once again (on an FX body, that is, in comparison the the DX lenses I was using). Besides, the macro mode of this lens really is outstanding. I used to have an AI-S 55mm f2.8 macro, but long ago left it out of the bag in favour of this one -- and that lens is legendary for sharpness! The macro on the 28-105 is really that good!

Alas, for much of the last two years, I've been shooting with the 24-70 f2.8. The greater speed and Nano Crystal Coat usually mean sharper photos at equivalent apertures.

Looking through some older photos earlier today, I saw one portrait I did one Christmas with nice, round colourful out-of-focus Christmas lights. Thinking it was my 80-200 f2.8, I was surprised to find out it was indeed this very lens at 75mm and f4.5. "Hmmm," I thought. Perhaps it's time to try out this lens once again. I've thought about selling this lens several times over the years, but considering how handy it is at times (when you don't want to lug around a heavy lens), or even if you need a bit more telephoto by switching to DX crop mode, I'm going to give it another shot as my all-round favourite lens!

Write a Review

You must be logged-in or registered to add a review.

photodo Stats

1102 lenses
428 MTF tests
74 in-depth        photodo reviews
100+ users join each day

Help the lens community by reviewing or rating a lens today via our lens search