Nikon 28mm f/2.8 Reviews

Aug 29th, 2006apollo

Priced Paid
$120

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a month

I bought this lens used on ebay and have not been disapointed. I never owned a wideangle that gave such good pictures. Wide open the extreme corners are a bit soft on my F100, but stopped down at 5.6 wow, IMO better then the 17-35mm f2.8 at the same focal length. Very nice considering how old it is. A friend has the AF version and it does not look quite as good, as the MTF data for both lenses on Photodo shows here.
Sep 19th, 2006fotomania

Priced Paid
200(secon

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

There are two types 28mm 2.8.
The bad one focus only to 30cm and the good one to 20cmm focus.
The "20cm" is superb in close rangeand very good for the far distances.
Sep 22nd, 2006nakedeye

Priced Paid
$120 USD

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I have the AIS version. When I need critical sharpness, this lens replaces my sharp Nikkor 35-70 f2.8 AF-D.
Nov 13th, 2006athlete7

Priced Paid
$330 USD

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

An adorable lens, providing excellent sharpness and biting colour across the frame from f/4 onwards. I have used it on my FM2n for almost any type of photography, even portraits. The build quality is superb, despite having gone round the world twice it still looks and works like new.
Jan 12th, 2008contaxfan

Priced Paid
$350

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

This is the sharpest wide angle Nikon lens ever made! It is perfectly sharp wide open at f2.8 (sharper than wide open Carl Zeiss 28mm/2.8 Biogon for Contax G!)and stoped down to f4 becomes even better. I use it often on my Nikon F5 with magic results on Velvia100, especially in low light, when I need f2.8 aperture. It loses it's wide angle charm on Nikon D200 because of 1.5x factor. For daylight I prefer Carl Zeiss 28mm/2.8 Biogon (Contax G2) which is better than Nikkor at aperture f8, nevertheless Nikkor AI-S 28mm/2.8 is a wonderful lens, sharper than any Nikon wide-angle zoom and just little bit worse than Carl Zeiss 28mm/2.8 Biogon when stopped down to f5.6 and f8.
Jun 8th, 2008rcap

Priced Paid
Not Specified

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I have had the AI-S version for over 20 years. Used mainly for group shots, but it is also great for closeups. Great sharpness to the edge of the photo.
Dec 18th, 2009flossie69

Priced Paid
$200 USD

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Yes, the AI-S 28/2.8 is marginally better than the 28/2.8 AI (it's not at all a "bad" lens) but both are MUCH better than any of the 28mm AF Nikkors. The exceptional 28/2.0 AI-S remains my personal favorite.
Oct 2nd, 2012MAK

Priced Paid
$400

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

A real gem in MF film camera days and it shows it's full potential on a D3x ,D600 and D800.
Very good for tripod mounted landscape shots.
It's optics are better than 20 and 24 AI-s ,I.m using it since more than 16 yrs. without a problem and nowadays mostly shoot it with FM3a and Fuji slides ,V50 ,V10 and Provia 100.
Very well made solid glass to last 25+ yrs.
One of the perfect mid-range priced prime lens to use on film and it's very good on digital too!
Overall score from me 8/10.

Write a Review

You must be logged-in or registered to add a review.