Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II Reviews

Jul 25th, 2006alaghi

Priced Paid
R$300,00

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I have a mark I version of this lens. Very good contrast and sharpness above F2.8, but is poor when wide open.
Jul 25th, 2006300Duser

Priced Paid
80

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

Excellent lens for the money!

It is very sharp, especially past 2.8 but still good at f1.8. The plastic mount and lack of focus distance markings are negative points for this lens.

Bokeh can be a bit ugly on occassion, but is generally better the closer the subject is to the lens (or has been in my experience)
Aug 1st, 2006coldfire

Priced Paid
$85 USD

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Guess I have been spoiled with my copy. Surprisingly sharp wide open (when in good focus) and scaringly sharp stopped down (f/7.1 being the sharpest aperture). It does lose point on the build quality issue (the plastic mount, the lack of distance window, the 5 aperture blades and the tiny focus ring) and on the AF motor (on the slow side, noisy and unconsistent), but overall it gives an amazing bang for your bucks. And it looks kick-ass on a 1Ds2 :))
Sep 6th, 2006Sukiari

Priced Paid
$69

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

This lens is a classic Double Gauss, which has been tried and true for many decades now. I don't know how I could expect more from a lens this cheap! Build quality is extremely basic, but the price and performance of the lens allow one to overlook this.

It's sharp and contrasty when stopped down a bit. Wide open it is softer, but it improves rapidly when stopped down. Bokeh is neutral and flare seems remarkably well suppressed. AF is quick and precise, however in manual focus the focus ring is a bit touchy. For this reason I either use AF, or after I have manually focused I switch the lens into AF mode to 'lock' the focus setting (I use CF4-1).

All in all, a remarkable value and CHEAP! If anybody in the Canon EOS system doesn't already own this lens, they are either a fool or they already have a 'better' 50.
Jun 29th, 2007Kent

Priced Paid
100,-

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Really fast, sometimes I think that this f1.8 is faster than my other lenses' f1.8 and with an excellent performance. A great 50mm lens if you can cope with the plastic body. It feels like a toy and shoots like a pro-lens. Plastic fantastic!
Jul 2nd, 2007bahudda

Priced Paid
$72

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

This lens has surprised me. I don't count my chickens until I see the prints (under a magnifying glass). I was impressed with the IQ compared to both the 85mm f1.8 and secretly amazing 135mm f2.8 SF.

I like this lens but I can't help but think the BOKEH is much better on the f1.4 version.

I agree that stopped down between f2.8 - f7.1 this lens sings a marvelous tune.
Feb 3rd, 2008graf86

Priced Paid
100$

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

I made some strange experiences. At first I was very satisfied with this 50mm. But my brother got a 18-55mm 3,5-5,6 IS (new version). In comparison at all apertures, the 18-55mm had a better resolution...
Tested with two different 50mm 1,8 MK II.
But I'm keeping it because of the fast stopp.
by the way: at f2.5 it's starting to look good and 2,8 and up is already at best performance. Good value for money!
Sep 5th, 2008klc

Priced Paid
65

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Bokeh is spoiled by 5 blade diaphragm. There is no mechanical vignetting, so if you want to use it for portrait, shoot at 1.8 and bokeh is perfect. Any other aperature and the diaphragm spoils it.

for me, its a great portrait lens on my APS digital 10-D,delivering a similar experience to a 90mm f2.8 on film in terms of working distance and depth of field.

Buy a Mk I on ebay for the same price as a new Mk II - the mark II is flimsy and plasticy whereas the Mk I is metal mount and robust and has a distance scale.

Mk I takes the same hood as my 70-21 too !
Nov 22nd, 2008silicium

Priced Paid
80

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
More than a year

Very good lens. It's completely plastic (mount included) but it feel solid, even if very light.
Image quality is superb even wide open.
Fast focusing and no rotating front element.
For the price it's sold is a bargain.
Apr 27th, 2009Wildlight

Priced Paid
79.99

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a year

Very sharp wide open and extremely sharp when stopped down to f/2.8 and below.
Bokeh is superb most of the time, but isn't as good for far away subjects.
Build quality is great for the price, but I wouldn't want to drop it!

For around 80 brand new, boxed and with warranty... you can't go wrong!
Nov 17th, 2015Alwev

Priced Paid
60 second hand

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a month

Disappointed, sold it. Not sharp until F3.5 and too free to use manual focus.
Nov 10th, 2016joshwa

Priced Paid
3

Product Understanding
Good

Time Owned
Less than a week

test

Write a Review

You must be logged-in or registered to add a review.

photodo Stats

1102 lenses
428 MTF tests
74 in-depth        photodo reviews
100+ users join each day

Help the lens community by reviewing or rating a lens today via our lens search